(0 votes)
Add to favourites

Click through the tabs below to view our different staff, officers, and deacons.


Click through the tabs below to view our different staff, officers, and deacons.



No items found
Please click here to return previous page


Office Staff

No items found
Please click here to return previous page



Music & Worship Staff

  • Danny Pravder
    Danny Pravder
    Contemporary Music Coordinator

    Danny Pravder is a pianist and composer based out of the Greater Los Angeles Area. He attended Skidmore College on a classical piano scholarship, and was a recipient of the Young Emerging Artist Scholarship in honor of the legendary jazz pianist Dave Brubeck. Danny has composed for a wide variety of ensembles, ranging from ballet to big band.

    He has music directed seven full length musicals. He showcased original works at the nationally recognized Place Theater and Plaza Hotel, and performed at events headlined by Grammy Winners Liza Minelli, Steve Martin, Edie Brickell and Pablo Sanchez.

    Danny is a ballet, modern and character class accompanist with the American Ballet Theatre Gillespie School, Segerstrom Center for the Arts, California State University Long Beach and Chapman University. He is also a keyboardist for the renowned television program, the Hour of Power.

    Danny recently recorded piano, composed and arranged at Capitol Records for Grammy winning rapper Kid Cudi’s album, Passion, Pain & Demon Slayin’. Additionally, Danny improvised and composed original material for his performance with Kid Cudi on the Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon.

  • Elliot Porterfield
    Elliot Porterfield
    Tech Systems Manager

    Elliot coordinates use of the sound equipment, setting up and tearing down when needed, fixing things when they go wrong, and scheduling the sound board operators for each service. He recently graduated from UC Berkeley, and works in aerospace safety analysis for his day job.



Children & Youth Staff

No items found
Please click here to return previous page



The session is a group of elected officers (the pastor and the elders). It is responsible for the mission and government of the church. The elders are elected for three year terms, one-third of the Session being elected each year. Note that elders are ordained for life, but only serve on Session when they are are elected. In our church, the elections are held during a congregational meeting in the Fall.


Session Members


  • Rev. Tim Avazian



  • Sue Speth


Class of 2020

  • Mike Mantz
  • Jerry Drenckhahn
  • Gwen Brown
  • Christy Wade

Class of 2021

  • Paul Puskar
  • Roger Quadhamer
  • Virginia Wade

Class of 2019

  • Gordon Teuber
  • Cam Beck
  • Lauren Beck
  • Elliot Porterfield
  • Matthew Benjamin


 For details about elder responsiblilites go to:





Moderator: Sherrill Truax

Vice-Moderator: Sarah Mantz

 For details about deacon responsiblilites go to:




The work of the church happens through the commissions. They are the incubators for new ideas and the forum for discussing how things happen. The chairperson of each commission is normally a member of Session, and the rest of the commission is drawn from the congregation. Anyone is welcome to join a commission (except Nominating), just contact the chairperson to learn about meeting times.



Membership / Adult Discipleship

Description Coming Soon


Chairperson: Christy Wade



Mission Commission

The Mission Commission supports a wide variety of humanitarian and evangelistic work in our city and throughout the world. Well over 10% of our budget is earmarked specifically for this purpose. Within Southern California, these funds support ministries to drug addicts, mentally ill persons, abused women, adoptive families, foster families, and the homeless. Outside of Southern California, these funds support several full time missionaries.


We increase awareness of Mission Opportunities through an annual Mission's Fair, an Alternative Christmas Market, a variety of missionary speakers, and the annual CROP walk for world hunger. In partnership with the Student Ministries Commission, we also encourage short-term mission trips, including a recent project in West Virginia. A major project of this commission is the annual Thanksgiving Basket Drive, which has distributed several thousand boxes of food and gifts to needy families in our community throughout the years.


Co-Chairs: Rori Franck- Thompson and Lauren Beck



Personnel Commission

This commission recruits, hires, and evaluates both full and part-time staff for the church. They maintain up-to-date job descriptions for each staff member. They evaluate each staff member at least biannually, they recommend salary changes, and they work to resolve significant performance problems that may occur. They also work to resolve any inter-personal problems or conflicts involving staff members.


Chairperson: Elliot Porterfield



Stewardship Commission

This Commission manages both the finances and the property of our church. They count the weekly offering and oversee the investment funds of the church. They supervise the financial secretary, they monitor financial reports, they create an annual pledge campaign, and they recommend an annual church budget for approval by the session. They oversee the maintenance and repair of church property. They also approve the use of church property by outside groups.


Chairperson: Jerry Drenckhahn



Worship & Music Commission

This commission is responsible for all aspects of church worship and music. Through the music staff, they organize music rehearsals and plan the music for each worship service. Through designated volunteers, they furnish liturgists, ushers and sound technicians each Sunday. They organize elders to serve the elements on each Communion Sunday, and they provide a sound technician for weddings and funerals when requested. They are also responsible for banners and seasonal decorations in and around the sanctuary.


Chairperson: Roger Quadhamer



Nominating Committee

This commission seeks to discover the individuals that God is calling to be elders and deacons in our church. In making this decision, they prayerfully consider stewardship, attendance, giftedness, spiritual maturity, and willingness to serve. In a typical year, they seek at least 7 elders and 11 deacons. This process takes several months of work.


Chairperson: TBD



Mission Facilitation Team

Description Coming Soon





Technology Support Team

Description Coming Soon


Chairperson: Elliot Porterfield

latest message
    We Commit to the Growth of Our Church Family by Reaching Out to Our Community
    Sun, Oct 27, 2019